Sunday July 20

This is the 4th Sunday of the Seven signs series. We will read and study the story of Jesus finding and healing the lame man.

Do you ever envy those who saw and heard Jesus while he was on this earth, who were actually in his presence? So far in our study I have come away from each story thinking the same thing: It was good for them to be near Jesus. Likewise in this week’s story, it was good for the lame man laying by the pool at Bethesda that Jesus drew near (John 5:1-18).

Full of power and compassion, Jesus demonstrated that he was fully God, equal with God. He came not to fix my temporary illness, but to restore, reclaim, renew my communion with God – a communion which is broken by sin. So, I imagine many who were healed, once they believed who Jesus was, asked themselves “What good is a thousand days of great health and ease when God knows me and the sin in my life?” Christ came to bear the wrath I deserve so that I may freely dwell in God’s presence.

Now, healed or suffering, we can say with the Psalmist “For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than in the tents of wickedness” (Psalm 84:10).

 

