Mercy in Prayer

Worship Thoughts for Sunday 7.14
Even in the good things God has given to us, such as prayer, we can see our need for mercy. Consider that access has been granted (earned by Jesus) that we may “with confidence draw near to the throne of grace” (Heb. 4:16), and consider our use of that access. For what do we pray?

Ask yourself, “What consumes my prayer?”

The remainder of the verse, “that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need,” is startling when I evaluate my prayer life.

Most of the time it is not to a “throne of grace” that I draw near. Rather, I draw near a god of my own making that deceives me to think that forgiveness is about do-overs. With Jesus, forgiveness is won once and for all. Most of the time it is not with confidence that I pray, for much time has passed between prayers. I fear the cost of what I may learn in His presence. Most of the time I seek not mercy or grace from God in the time of need, but to have things and good health.

Does this sound familiar? Even in our prayers we need mercy. And, God is rich in mercy (Eph. 2:4). The Spirit prays for us (Rom. 8:26). Jesus Christ intercedes to the Father for us (Rom. 8:34). As the church, we sing out in unison to others like us: “Come, ye sinners, poor and needy, weak and wounded, sick and sore; Jesus ready stands to save you, full of pity, love and power.

Here are the songs we are singing this week

Our God – Chris Tomlin
Once and For All – Chris Tomlin
Your Name – Paul Baloche
Come Ye Sinners – Robbie Seay Band

