Prayer in the Hard Times

Worship Thoughts for Sunday 6.23
Christians face hard times in life. Salvation in Christ does not immune from disease, anesthetize from pain, nor quiet false accusations. Those with the strongest faith, deepest prayers, and devoted worship to God still endure trials.

Salvation provides for Christians the way through the hard times in life, and ultimately this life itself. Jesus encouraged his disciples that the way to God was Himself, saying “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me….I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:1, 6, ESV).

Through the power of the Spirit we can pray prayers that demonstrate faith, trusting that those prayers are heard and accepted because of the victorious work of Jesus on the cross. The song Desert Song portrays this so well throughout the verses (I underlined the prayer):

This is my prayer in the desert
When all that’s within me feels dry
This is my prayer in my hunger and need
My God is a God who provides (Gen. 22:8)

And this is my prayer in the fire
In weakness or trial or pain
There is a faith proved
Of more worth than gold (1 Pet. 1:6-7)
So refine me Lord through the flames

The song goes on stating the trial and the resulting prayer.

Simply going through difficult times does not guarantee that one will become godly. Likewise, only saying that you have faith is of little value. Rather, demonstrating one’s faith by trusting in the Scripture and God’s loving care brings about the godly change our Father seeks in us. We demonstrate this through prayer, like the above, and obedience to God even when it doesn’t make sense.

Here are the songs we are singing this week

Here for You – Chris Tomlin
You, You are God – Gateway Worship
Jesus Only Jesus – Matt Redman
Desert Song – Hillsong Live

